Who hasn’t longed to sink straight into a box full of chocolates after a long stressful day? Who hasn’t been to the cinema with the intention of purchasing the largest bag of Twizzlers?

However, if you’re a new vegan or considering becoming vegan, you may be wondering whether Twizzlers are vegan. Here’s what you as a vegan should know about them.

What are Twizzlers?

Twizzlers are a famous licorice snack in the United States. Licorice is generally offered as black licorice or red licorice and is called from the root that provides the classic black licorice its taste.

Some may claim that Twizzlers aren’t really licorice since they don’t include any licorice origin or extract, but the non-licorice tastes may actually add to their appeal, particularly among children.

Twizzlers are available in a multitude of flavors and forms, including Twists, Pull ‘n’ Peel, NIBS, Filled Twists, and Bites in flavors such as black, cherry, or even chocolate.

Are Twizzlers Vegan?

Vegan foods are ones that are free of animal ingredients and byproducts. Animal byproducts are ubiquitous in candy, particularly non-chocolate varieties.

The following are the most prevalent animal components in candy:

  • Gelatin is a protein derived from the skin, bones, and tendons of animals.
  • Beetle-derived carmine is occasionally used as a crimson dye.
  • Fat from milk.

It is vegan, but it is not 100% sure that it has not been tested on animals.

Is there anything controversial in Twizzlers?

Twizzlers generally seem to be vegan. This is due to the fact that they do not include any gelatin.

Twizzlers, on the other hand, may not be completely vegan. Glycerin is one possible non-vegan element identified in Twizzlers.

Glycerin is a by-product of the soap-making process. It also uses a lot of animal fat. Hershey, on the other hand, claims that the glycerin they utilize is derived from a variety of vegetable oils.

Furthermore, the red hue that gives Twizzlers their red appearance is not made from carmine. Alternatively, the red color utilized is artificially manufactured red dye #40. It isn’t built out of insects. Nevertheless, some vegans disagree that they are vegan since they often experiment on animals.

Sugar is another element that is always a source of contention. Because some sugar in the United States is derived from bone char, it is not vegan. While Hershey’s does not specify the sort of sugar it uses, it does give opportunity for speculation. Sweets-making enterprises need a lot of sugar since they produce candy on a massive scale. As a result, there’s a good chance they acquire their sugar from diverse sources. And therein lays the problem: part of the sugar they receive is likely to be derived from bone char.

The usage of palm oil is another point of concern. Palm oil is mostly made up of plants. Most vegans, though, avoid it since it contributes to deforestation and the loss of wildlife habitat.

Twizzlers may not be everyone’s cup of tea, even if they are vegan. It’s entirely up to you whether or not you want to eat Twizzlers, as well as your feelings about the components.

Sign In

Register

Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.