Kit Kat is possibly the most popular chocolate bar in the world. The contrast between the crunchy wafer core and the rich chocolatey shell is unrivaled.
As far as we know, the iconic chocolate motto is correct. ‘Take a break, eat a Kit Kat,' since the brilliance of this chocolate is extremely invigorating, and its wonderful flavor never gets old.
When you commit to a responsible vegan lifestyle, you should examine everything you eat to ensure that your pledge is kept. Vegans are emotionally and practically healthy individuals who choose to consume only things that do not harm animals.
Vegans are also concerned about the environment and are aware of the consequences of taking the world for granted.
Kit Kats may have the finest taste of any chocolate, but are they vegan? They aren't, unfortunately. Kit Kat contains a few hazardous components that will cause you to abandon it.
- So, are kit kats vegan?
- Do Kit Kats contain gelatin?
- Are There Vegan KitKats?
- Even though kit kats are not vegan, there are still vegan alternatives
- Where to buy vegan kit kat in the UK
- Vegan KitKat V made with rice milk.
- Anyone searching for a nice plant-based break now has a fantastic option
So, are kit kats vegan?
No, they are not vegan.
It is as terrible as it appears. Kit Kats aren't suitable for vegans. Vegans cannot eat these delectable chocolate bars since they include certain unwanted components.
Full cream milk powder is one of these components. Soy lecithin, milk chocolate, sugar, and natural flavors are the additional components to avoid. Kit Kats of various variations and origins may include even more non-vegan ingredients in different nations.
Kit Kats are not suited for vegans due to the inclusion of milk.
A regular Kit Kat is said to contain 76 percent milk chocolate. It is not necessary for all milk chocolate to be non-vegan. Vegan foods frequently contain rice milk, almond milk, coconut milk, and soy milk. Kit Kat chocolates, on the other hand, are made from dairy milk. It's definitely not vegan.
You could come across a few vegans who claim to be lacto-vegans or vegans who drink milk. Let me tell you something: Lacto-vegan does not exist; you are a vegetarian.
Vegans do not consume any food that has been produced as a consequence of animal cruelty. Cows produce milk solely for their young; therefore, milk is collected by exploitation. Calves get their necessary sustenance from humans by pushing them away from their mothers' milk. Frequently, the calves are redirected to the meat sector. Male calves are particularly unwelcome on dairy farms.
It's heartbreaking how young calves are removed from their moms. Worse, they are frequently killed. Cows that run dry or cease producing milk as they age are in a similar situation. These animals are not profitable to capitalist farm owners; thus, they are not fed. These cows are either abandoned, murdered, or sold to meat and leather processing plants.
But that's not all. Artificial hormones are given to dairy cows so that they can continue to produce milk even when they are not pregnant. This has a serious influence on the health of these creatures, who have been reduced to simple objects of human avarice.
Veganism will never accept such heinous acts of violence, inhumanity, or cruelty. Dairy products such as milk are unacceptable in veganism, just as it is in eggs and meat.
Kit Kats are not suitable for vegans because they contain milk.
Do Kit Kats contain gelatin?
There are several doubts when something has an unmistakable flavor. Behind the scenes, manufacturers frequently introduce undesirable additives. Vegans are extra vigilant in such situations.
Regardless, Kit Kats do not contain gelatin, contrary to common belief. Kit Kat's unique texture has spawned a slew of hoaxes centered on the renowned chocolate. Kit Kat is thought to include horse and cow meat in a few nations. While this is not correct, the source of the rumors may be understood.
People are so perplexed by their taste that they go to great lengths to express it. The creators of Kit Kat undoubtedly see this as a compliment. However, it is fairly unusual for meals to contain gelatin or other meat-like compounds.
Gelatin is a proteinaceous substance created by boiling animal bones, skins, ligaments, and tendons in water if you didn't know. This hazardous material exists and is often utilized to produce aeration in food products. Gelatin gives meals a chewy, soft, and fluffy texture without changing the flavor.
Even though vegan equivalents are readily accessible, it's a pity that such products are still utilized. Pectin is a plant-based material that performs similarly to gelatin. We want to never see gelatin in food again.
Are There Vegan KitKats?
KitKats, which were invented in 1935 by the English confectionary Rowntree's of York, are famous all over the globe; since 2000, Japan has had over 300 different tastes, including green tea, azuki bean, and sakura flower. However, throughout the 84-year existence of the candy company, there has never been a vegan version.
M&M's-style candies in the flavors Dark Chocolate, Sea Salted Almond, and Sea Salted Peanut are also vegan alternatives. UnReal, which creates dairy-free peanut butter cups and dark chocolate "gems," offers candy identical to these. Little Secrets, like UnReal, employs plant-based food coloring instead of artificial colors for its candy coating.
Little Secrets candy is now available nationwide at King Soopers, Wegmans, Stop & Shop, HEB, Meijer, and Natural Grocers.
Even though kit kats are not vegan, there are still vegan alternatives
If the loss of Kit Kats to the never-ending list of non-vegan items feels insurmountable to you as a vegan, there is good news. Vegan Kit Kat substitutes are available and taste just as good.
Enjoy Life Chocolate Bars
Take a peek at this gluten-free, vegan recipe. GMO-free chocolate bars that taste just like Kit Kat and don't include any non-vegan ingredients are also available.
Little Secrets Crispy Wafers Dark Chocolate
Little Secrets is a clean label chocolate business that uses no artificial flavors or additives in its products. Their vegan dark chocolate has a sea salt coating that reminds me of a Kit Kat.
Little Secrets chocolates, unlike Nestle and Hershey's, do not rely on child labor on the African subcontinent. Fairtrade rules safeguard the employees at their factories.
The globe is moving toward healthier eating habits, and Forbes is promoting Little Secrets' "better for you" chocolates all around the world.
Where to buy vegan kit kat in the UK
Prepare to relax with Nestlé's new vegan KitKat, which is available in the UK starting today.
The new vegan KitKat V from Nestlé blends crisp wafers and silky chocolate with a rice-based milk substitute.
In addition, the four-finger vegan delight is now available in Sainsbury's shops.
The Vegan Society has approved the vegan KitKat V, which costs £1 per pack.
It's created with 100 percent certified sustainable cocoa, sourced through the Nestlé Cocoa Plan in collaboration with the Rainforest Alliance, much like the rest of the KitKat line.
Vegan KitKat V made with rice milk.
Smooth dairy-free chocolate is combined with a rice-based milk substitute and the brand's distinctive crisp wafer in KitKat V.
In addition, the bar was created by chocolatiers and food scientists at Nestle's York Research & Development center, which is where KitKat originated.
"Our challenge when we set out to produce a vegan-friendly KitKat was to recreate this famous product using plant-based alternatives," Louise Barrett, Head of the Nestlé Confectionery Product Technology Centre, told Vegan Food & Living. The end result is vegan chocolate that we're incredibly proud of and that we hope KitKat lovers throughout the world will enjoy."
Anyone searching for a nice plant-based break now has a fantastic option
Sascha Macchi, KitKat's brand manager, told says, "KitKat is such a great brand because it has changed throughout its existence."
With the addition of our vegan-friendly bar, anyone searching for a plant-based break now has a tasty option. We hope that everyone enjoys just as we do!”
With more individuals pledging to live a plant-based lifestyle, it's critical that large corporations develop vegan choices for their customers, such as the KitKat V.
This not only makes their goods more inclusive, but it also gives non-vegans the opportunity to try out something new and make a conscious effort to choose a plant-based choice.