Well,  the short answer to this question mentioned above is yes. Vegans can consume golden syrup.

To address the single question of whether or not vegans may consume golden syrup, we can say that “Yes” is the answer.

Continue reading to learn more about golden syrup.

More About Golden Syrup

Golden syrup is a thick, amber-colored syrup made from a combination of water, citric acid, sugar beet juice, or sugar cane juice. It’s a delectable sweet delight that’s a great and popular honey replacement.

You may use it in any recipe that calls for honey, such as pancakes, waffles, and ginger cakes.

This golden syrup is completely vegan and does not include any animal derivatives. As a result, you may use it in any of your favorite baking recipes or sweets. As a result, this golden syrup is an outstanding plant-based honey replacement.

There are also specialist brands that produce a whole plant-based golden syrup, which gives you even more alternatives.

Best whole plant-based golden syrups

Lyle’s

Lyle’s, with its vegan-friendly golden syrup, is one of the firms at the top of the list. For many individuals, it is a well-known brand. They provide goods that are completely vegan-friendly. Their chocolate-flavored syrup, on the other hand, contains skimmed milk powder and condensed milk. As a result, it contains no animal products apart from this one taste. You can get your hands on them easily on Amazon.

Silver spoon

is golden syrup vegan

Another well-known British brand is The Silver Spoon. It creates golden syrup that vegans may enjoy without fear. However, there are some items that you must avoid since they may contain eggs. As a result, properly reading the labels before making any purchase is always the best option. This brand additionally ensures that none of their regular sugars are processed with bone char. Bone char is a charred animal bone that is used to produce sugar, and it is a concern for vegans.

Ragus

Ragus, which is likewise situated in the United Kingdom, is another firm worth mentioning. It’s really interesting that the company’s creator, Charles Eastwick, is the man who created and launched the whole golden syrup craze. As a result, you can be confident that Ragus understands how to make the greatest vegan-friendly golden syrup available.

is golden syrup vegan

Rayner’s

Rayner’s Fairtrade golden syrup is made from 100 percent organic ingredients and is appropriate for vegetarians and vegans. It has no preservatives, artificial flavorings, or gluten.

Homemade Golden Syrup

It may not be as simple to locate vegan golden syrup in stores in the United States as they are mostly in the United Kingdom. As a result, you may always save time and money by making your own golden syrup.

You’ll need the following ingredients:

  • ¾ fresh lemon
  • 800 g white sugar
  • 600 ml of water

Instruction

  • Fill a medium pot halfway with water, sugar, and lemon juice. It’s preferable to use a ceramic or stainless steel saucepan since it uniformly distributes heat and prevents sugar from burning.
  • Cook the mixture over medium heat and occasionally stir until the sugar has dissolved. Allow it to boil for 1 hour and 30 minutes on low heat without stirring once it has dissolved. As you cook, you’ll see that the color of the mixture gradually changes to amber, almost like honey.
  • Make sure the mixture has a little runny consistency and isn’t as thick as honey because it will thicken even more as it cools.
  • Allow the mixture to cool fully before transferring it to a glass jar and tightly closing the lid.
  • It’s preferable to wait two weeks for the syrup to develop before using it. This step is crucial because the consistency thickens, and, strangely, the flavor improves as it rests longer.

Conclusion

That is all. Finally, your vegan golden syrup is ready for consumption.

It has a long shelf life as well. This syrup can be kept at room temperature for up to 6 months.

So, sure, vegans may consume golden syrup since it is fully vegan. The makers of vegan golden syrup always make sure that their goods are made in a vegan-friendly manner.

What’s more, you may decide to produce your own homemade golden syrup, which is simple and quick to prepare.

Sign In

Register

Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.